Hiking the Stawamus Chief in Squamish, BC

21 Jul

This hike for me was of one of personal significance.  Any other mountain would be just a test to my physical limitations and enjoying what BC has to offer, but this was a different challenge.

It was like facing an adversary.  It was an effort to spiritually overcome or conquer the promises tied to it.  It was something I wanted to do on my journey of healing.

Don’t let this introduction set too heavy of a tone now, it was actually an incredible hike — nothing I’ve ever experienced before, and how grateful I am that I got to do it with my wonderful sister.

_DSC9355

View of the Chief from our Airbnb

IMG_5829

IMG_5835

From the bottom – in two hours we would be at the far right peak (1st peak)

_DSC9364

View towards Squamish/Howe Sound from the base

_DSC9368

Tons of camp sites at the base

_DSC9369_DSC9374_DSC9375_DSC9377_DSC9380_DSC9379IMG_5941_DSC9390_DSC9396_DSC9395bw_DSC9397_DSC9412IMG_5943IMG_5877IMG_5873

_DSC9400

Some fellow hikers who were listening to some meditation (and later Beach House and other good tunes) stopping for a push up break?  I wonder if they will ever see this post?

_DSC9404IMG_5944_DSC9425_DSC9427

Two hours of climbing some serious steep rock and steps and we made it!  I think we could’ve done it a bit faster, but I had to take several breaks for photos.  Keep scrolling for some beautiful mountaintop views. We did it! We did it! I did it!

_DSC9436_DSC9433

_DSC9438

2nd and 3rd peaks

_DSC9464

That curvy sea-to-sky highway

_DSC9468bw

IMG_5851

There were a couple little foragers up there!

IMG_5863IMG_5939IMG_5942

The way back down was much, much easier and we did it in less than half the time.  I did hit my physical limit, by the very end my legs started giving out and my ankles were rolling.  It was the perfect hike.

IMG_5872IMG_5880IMG_5941_DSC9491_DSC9484bwIMG_5892

 

What an accomplishment and experience.  I know there are people in the area that have hiked this a thousand times, but being from Northwestern Ontario, there isn’t anything I have done close in comparison.  I am so happy I had the chance to get myself to the top.  I brought myself here and I’m achieving what I want.  Cross it off the bucket list!

Today Megan and I continued our voyage on to Whistler.  We enjoyed a less strenuous day walking the village and relaxing in our accommodations nestled in the mountains.

Leave a Reply

