Little Joys (inspired by the North)

21 Jun

I have an internal list of “little joys”.  These are things in life that bring me happiness, and are immensely positive additions to my experience on this planet.

They are things that, when I think of them, cause me to feel wistful or nostalgic.  When I experience them, I feel full or complete in that moment, invigorated, and calm at the same time.

Here is some of that list:
Big, deep, rumbling thunder storms – like the one happening right now as I write
The smell of bon fire
Saunas
Feeling the sun on my skin (specifically on the first warm days of spring) and the days where I can shed my socks and long sleeves
Capturing the perfect moment in a photograph
Midnight bike rides
The perfect song coming on at the right moment
Driving fast with the windows down
Laughing really hard with friends

Some things are highly influenced by my location in the world, and this makes me so grateful for where I live – although our winters are lonnnnnnng, dark, and bitter cold, there are things that make it all so incredibly worth it.

Warm summer nights
Bird songs
Coming face to face with wildlife – like that time Katie and I were feet away from a fox with a rabbit hanging from its mouth
Seeing the aurora

Stargazing – it makes me feel so infinite yet, so insignificant…

These are some images from when I took time for myself to experience the gift of the night sky, free of light pollution.  This is an hour north of Thunder Bay, Ontario on June 12, 2016
_DSC4053logosm_DSC4056logosm_DSC4057logosm_DSC4062logosm_DSC4065logosm_DSC4068v2logosm_DSC4069logosm

 

What are some meaningful things for all of you?

6 Responses to “Little Joys (inspired by the North)”

  1. jazzywalker June 21, 2016 at 5:59 pm #

    Beautiful. You brought a smile to my face, specially because I recognise all of those things! And you made some stunning pictures!

    • flashbackphoto June 21, 2016 at 7:11 pm #

      I’m so glad! My hope with this post is do exactly that. And thank you so much for the compliment!

  2. Marla Eve June 22, 2016 at 8:33 pm #

    Wow–how do you do that!

    • flashbackphoto June 27, 2016 at 3:34 pm #

      Long exposure, middle of the night, far-far outside of the city

  3. my one life. today June 23, 2016 at 5:58 am #

    Beautiful post, and beautiful photos. There is a very relaxing calmness radiating from both your writing abd the images. I needed that…

Leave a Reply

