Mindfulness & inspiration ~ creating is therapy

3 Mar

One of the things I’ve been exploring this semester through school (and trying to incorporate in my personal life) is mindfulness / mindful meditation.  I’ve been struggling, and making excuses.  No time, I feel interrupted by the kids, not feeling motivated to make it a daily thing, etc, etc.

But, I experienced an amalgamation of things today that took me by surprise.

On the way out of Chapters this afternoon (I practice self care through flipping through books, smelling coffee and being around people without having to talk to them), my eye was caught by a magazine with an old double reflex camera on the cover.  It was the spring volume of bella Grace magazine – and when I flipped through, I found articles on gratitude and the most nostalgic images that were really speaking to me.  I purchased it.

The first article I read inside is titled: Finding Stillness Through Still Life – By Kim Klassen.  She takes quiet time to herself, in her favourite spaces, nooks, and crannies and sets up still life photographs. The items don’t need to be related in anyway of course, just a simple collection of objects.  This, she realized, was her meditation and mindfulness.

I felt so inspired by this because I had been struggling to find my way into this really great practice, and here is the perfect way for me to approach it.

Today I worried about not being productive, I felt anxious about schoolwork, I didn’t end up committing the time I hoped to to housework.  And then I got today’s inspiration.  The last of the day’s sun came in through my windows, and I practiced mindfulness.

_DSC1205 _DSC1204 _DSC1193

For those people that I have worked with, I imagine it’s noticeable how -in the zone- I get when I am behind the camera.  Nothing else goes through my mind but what I see through the lens.  My subjects, the background, the angles, light, posing, details, focus.  I can’t imagine a better way for me to be in the moment.

Leave a Reply

